How to remove Qustodio's "AlwaysOn" VPN profile using AppleConfigurator

Overview

If you used the AppleConfigurator on a Mac computer to install Qustodio's VPN onto your child's device following a procedure we refer as "AlwaysOn", you will need to use the AppleConfigurator again to remove the profile and restore the iOS device to it's previous state.

Please note that this procedure will delete all information and content on the device, because of this we strongly recommend to make a copy all the files you want to keep.

AppleConfigurator 1 or 2

Depending on your country, you might have used AppleConfigurator 1 or AppleConfigurator 2. Each version has different steps to uninstall Qustodio, so you will need to check which Configurator you've used before starting to uninstall.

Once you've confirmed the version, please follow these steps, depending on which version of AppleConfigurator you need to use:

 

I am using AppleConfigurator 1

 

To remove the secure protection, you will have to follow these steps below:


1. Open AppleConfigurator 1

2. Under Settings > Profiles click the - sign to
unselect the Profile you had created and click Refresh.



3. Click Devices > Unsupervise from the menu (note: this will WIPE your device again). Click Refresh.



You can then remove Qustodio by following these instructions.



I am using AppleConfigurator 2

 

To eliminate the Supervised mode on the device, follow these steps (note that this process will completely wipe out the device).

1. Open AppleConfigurator and connect the iOS device to the Mac computer.

2. Go to the “Actions” menu and select “Restore”. This will start a process to restore the device. If you have created a backup, choose the “Restore from backup” option and select the backup.